Marlins trim roster to 27

JUPITER, Fla. — Donovan Solano and Jake Marisnick were among the list of players informed on Thursday morning that they will not be on the Marlins’ Opening Day roster.

Solano, the club’s starting second baseman for most of last year, was competing for a utility role, which now appears to be going to Ed Lucas.

Solano will be optioned to Triple-A New Orleans.

In all, seven moves were made, reducing the roster to 27.

Marisnick and Solano were optioned to Triple-A New Orleans. Relievers Chris Hatcher and Henry Rodriguez, outfielder Matt Angle, and infielders Austin Nola and Juan Diaz were reassigned to Minor League camp.

Manager Mike Redmond also indicated that second baseman Rafael Furcal (left hamstring) is likely headed for the disabled list, retroactive to March 21. Furcal took some batting practice on Thursday, but he is going to get a few days of rest.

Derek Dietrich is the likely candidate to be Miami’s Opening Day second baseman.

Initially, it was believed outfielder Brian Bogusevic was getting cut. But as of mid-morning, the Marlins had not made any decision. Bogusevic is out of options, and the team has to set its final 25-man roster by Monday’s Opening Day.

The roster has to be set by 3 p.m. ET on Sunday. Even if Bogusevic doesn’t make the club, and he clears waivers, the club would hope he would agree to go to Triple-A New Orleans.

The Marlins have to clear a 40-man roster spot for Reed Johnson, a non-roster invitee who was informed on Tuesday that he is making the team.

Marisnick was competing for the center field job, which is going to Marcell Ozuna.

The roster is shaping up as:

C: Jarrod Saltalamacchia
1B: Garrett Jones
2B: Derek Dietrich
SS: Adeiny Hechavarria
3B: Casey McGehee
LF: Christian Yelich
CF: Marcell Ozuna
RF: Giancarlo Stanton

Bench: Jeff Mathis (catcher), Greg Dobbs (first/third), Ed Lucas (INF), Reed Johnson (OF), Jeff Baker (INF/OF)

Still in camp: Furcal, Bogusevic

Rotation (Not finalized)

1. Jose Fernandez
2. Nathan Eovaldi
3. Henderson Alvarez
4. Jacob Turner
5. Tom Koehler

Bullpen: Steve Cishek (closer), Mike Dunn, Carlos Marmol, A.J. Ramos, Kevin Slowey, Dan Jennings, Brad Hand.

Joe Frisaro

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: