Hanley up for Players Choice Award

Hanley Ramirez is up for another honor.

The Marlins All-Star shortstop is a finalist for the Players Choice Award, which is selected by the MLB players.

The MLB Players Association announced on Thursday that Ramirez is a Player of the Year finalist, along with Minnesota’s Joe Mauer and St. Louis’ Albert Pujols.

Ramirez in 2009, became the first Marlin ever to win the batting title, posting a .342 average. Mauer won the American League batting title with a .365 batting average. Pujols belted 47 homers to go along with a .327 batting average and 135 RBIs.

Winners will be announced in a series of segments on ESPN Radio’s Mike & Mike in the Morning (6-10 a.m. ET). The announcements will begin on Monday and continue through Friday.

— Joe Frisaro

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: