Hit or error?
Hit or error?
Initially, the official scorer ruled double. Then after seeing replays, the call was reversed to a two-base error.
Jacoby Ellsbury’s first MLB error came with a little controversy on Wednesday night. In the first inning, the speedy Red Sox center fielder tried to run down Jorge Cantu’s line drive into left center. The ball hit off his glove and popped out.
The overturn became the first error Ellsbury has committed in his career, and it came in his 232nd game. Florida’s Hanley Ramirez scored on the play, and it became an unearned run charged to Brad Penny.
Cantu said he felt it was a hit, and that sentiment was shared on the Marlins bench.
“It was the talk of the dugout for a few innings,” Cantu said. “All I know is that Ellsbury was in full sprint for the ball. That’s all I saw. It was kind of weird that they called that an error.
“I found out that Ellsbury had some kind of streak with errors. I don’t know. It’s their call. There is nothing I can do about it. Everybody thought it had to be a base hit, because it was full sprint out there for the ball.”
Had it been ruled a hit, it would have been an RBI for Cantu. Official scorers have 24 hours, or before the ensuing game, to reverse a call. For that to happen in this case is unlikely since it would add an earned run to Penny. You typically don’t find club’s seeking to add a negative statistics to their pitchers.
Marlins right fielder Jeremy Hermida said he wasn’t sure if it was a hit or error.
“I don’t know,” Hermida said. “That’s one of those you have to see the replay on. It’s almost a general rule in the outfield, if it’s off your glove, you get an error. Right or wrong.”
— Joe Frisaro